NT Public Holidays 2022

The Northern Territory has a combination of statewide public holidays and regional public holidays for local shows in some areas. The areas of the NT that have regional public holidays are Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Darwin and Borroloola.

The holiday list below shows both statewide and regional Northern Territory public holidays.

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DaySaturday, 1 January 2022PublicNT Wide
New Year’s Day Additional DayMonday, 3 January 2022PublicNT Wide
Australia DayWednesday, 26 January 2022PublicNT Wide
Good FridayFriday, 15 April 2022PublicNT Wide
Day following Good FridaySaturday, 16 April 2022PublicNT Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 18 April 2022PublicNT Wide
Anzac DayMonday, 25 April 2022PublicNT Wide
May DayMonday, 2 May 2022PublicNT Wide
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, 13 June 2022PublicNT Wide
Alice Springs Show DayFriday, 1 July 2022RegionalAlice Springs
Tennant Creek Show DayFriday, 8 July 2022RegionalTennant Creek
Katherine Show DayFriday, 15 July 2022RegionalKatherine
Darwin Show DayFriday, 22 July 2022RegionalDarwin
Borroloola Show DayFriday, 19 August 2022RegionalBorroloola
Picnic DayMonday, 1 August 2022PublicNT Wide
Queen National Day of Mourning Public HolidayThursday, 22 September 2022PublicNT Wide
Christmas Eve*Saturday, 24 December 2022PublicNT Wide
Christmas Day*Sunday, 25 December 2022PublicNT Wide
Christmas Day Additional DayMonday, 26 December 2022PublicNT Wide
Boxing Day Holiday*Tuesday, 27 December 2022PublicNT Wide
New Year’s Eve (Part Day)Saturday, 31 December 2022PublicNT Wide


*In the Northern Territory, Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve are part-day public holidays (7 pm til midnight).

In 2022, New Year’s Day falls on a Saturday. As a result, there is an additional public holiday on Monday, 3 January 2022.

In 2022, Christmas Day falls on a Sunday. As a result there is an additional public holiday on Tuesday, 27 December 2022 (Boxing Day is on Monday, 26 December).

Information presented is from NT Government sources.