NT Public Holidays 2021

The Northern Territory has a combination of statewide public holidays and regional public holidays for local shows in some areas. The areas of the NT that have regional public holidays are Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Darwin and Borroloola.

The holiday list below shows both statewide and regional Northern Territory public holidays.

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayFriday, January 1 2021PublicNT Wide
Australia DayTuesday, 26 January 2021PublicNT Wide
Good FridayFriday, 2 April 2021PublicNT Wide
Day following Good FridaySaturday, 3 April 2021PublicNT Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 5 April 2021PublicNT Wide
Anzac DaySunday, 25 April 2021PublicNT Wide
May DayMonday, 3 May 2021PublicNT Wide
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, 14 June 2021PublicNT Wide
Borroloola Show DayFriday, 25 June 2021RegionalBorroloola
Alice Springs Show DayFriday, 2 July 2021RegionalAlice Springs
Tennant Creek Show DayFriday, 9 July 2021RegionalTennant Creek
Katherine Show DayFriday, 16 July 2021RegionalKatherine
Darwin Show DayFriday, 23 July 2021RegionalDarwin
Picnic DayMonday, 2 August 2021PublicNT Wide
Christmas Eve*Friday, 24 December 2021PublicNT Wide
Christmas DaySaturday, 25 December 2021PublicNT Wide
Boxing DaySunday, 26 December 2021PublicNT Wide
Christmas Day HolidayMonday, 27 December 2021PublicNT Wide
Boxing Day HolidayTuesday, 28 December 2021PublicNT Wide
New Year’s Eve*Friday, 31 December 2021PublicNT Wide


*In the Northern Territory, Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve are part-day public holidays (7 pm til midnight).

*In 2021 Christmas Day falls on Saturday, 25th December. As a result there is a public holiday on the following Monday, 27th December.

In 2021, Boxing Day falls on Sunday, 26th December. As a result there is a public holiday on the following Tuesday, 28 December 2021.

Information presented is from NT Government sources.