NT Public Holidays 2019

The Northern Territory has a combination of statewide public holidays and regional public holidays for local shows in some areas. The areas of the NT that have regional public holidays are Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Darwin and Borroloola.

The holiday list below shows both statewide and regional Northern Territory public holidays.

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayTuesday, 1 January 2019PublicNT Wide
Australia DaySaturday, 26 January 2019PublicNT Wide
Australia Day Holiday*Monday, 28 January 2019PublicNT Wide
Good FridayFriday, 19 April 2019PublicNT Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 22 April 2019PublicNT Wide
Anzac DayThursday, 25 April 2019PublicNT Wide
May DayMonday, 6 May 2019PublicNT Wide
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, 10 June 2019PublicNT Wide
Borroloola Show DayFriday, 28 June 2019RegionalBorroloola
Alice Springs Show DayFriday, 5 July 2019RegionalAlice Springs
Tennant Creek Show DayFriday, 12 July 2019RegionalTennant Creek
Katherine Show DayFriday, 19 July 2019RegionalKatherine
Darwin Show DayFriday, 26 July 2019RegionalDarwin
Picnic DayMonday, 5 August 2019PublicNT Wide
Christmas DayWednesday, 25 December 2019PublicNT Wide
Boxing DayThursday, 26 December 2019PublicNT Wide


*In the Northern Territory, Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve are part-day public holidays (7 pm til midnight).

Information presented is from NT Government sources.