NT Public Holidays 2018

The Northern Territory has a combination of statewide public holidays and regional public holidays for local shows in some areas. The areas of the NT that have regional public holidays are Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Darwin and Borroloola.

The holiday list below shows both statewide and regional Northern Territory public holidays.

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Years DayMonday, 1 January 2018PublicNT Wide
Australia DayFriday, 26 January 2018PublicNT Wide
Good FridayFriday, 30 March 2018PublicNT Wide
Easter SaturdaySaturday, 31 March 2018PublicNT Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 2 April 2018PublicNT Wide
Anzac DayWednesday, 25 April 2018PublicNT Wide
May DayMonday, 7 May 2018PublicNT Wide
Queens BirthdayMonday, 11 June 2018PublicNT Wide
Borroloola Show DayFriday, 29 June 2018RegionalBorroloola
Alice Springs Show DayFriday, 6 July 2018RegionalAlice Springs
Tennant Creek Show DayFriday, 13 July 2018RegionalTennant Creek
Katherine Show DayFriday, 20 July 2018RegionalKatherine
Darwin Show DayFriday, 27 July 2018RegionalDarwin
Picnic DayMonday, 6 August 2018PublicNT Wide
Christmas DayTuesday, 25 December 2018PublicNT Wide
Boxing DayWednesday, 26 December 2018PublicNT Wide


*In the Northern Territory, Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve are part-day public holidays (7 pm til midnight).

Information presented is from NT Government sources.