NT Public Holidays 2017

The Northern Territory has a combination of statewide public holidays and regional public holidays for local shows in some areas. The areas of the NT that have regional public holidays are Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Darwin and Borroloola.

The holiday list below shows both statewide and regional Northern Territory public holidays.

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Years DaySunday, 1 January 2017PublicNT Wide
Additional Day*Monday, 2 January 2017PublicNT Wide
Australia DayThursday, 26 January 2017PublicNT Wide
Good FridayFriday, 14 April 2017PublicNT Wide
Easter SaturdaySaturday, 15 April 2017PublicNT Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 17 April 2017PublicNT Wide
Anzac DayTuesday, 25 April 2017PublicNT Wide
May DayMonday, 1 May 2017PublicNT Wide
Queens BirthdayMonday, 12 June 2017PublicNT Wide
Borroloola Show DayFriday, 30 June 2017RegionalBorroloola
Alice Springs Show DayFriday, 7 July 2017RegionalAlice Springs
Tennant Creek Show DayFriday, 14 July 2017RegionalTennant Creek
Katherine Show DayFriday, 21 July 2017RegionalKatherine
Darwin Show DayFriday, 28 July 2017RegionalDarwin
Picnic DayMonday, 7 August 2017PublicNT Wide
Christmas DayMonday, 25 December 2017PublicNT Wide
Boxing DayTuesday, 26 December 2017PublicNT Wide


*In the Northern Territory, Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve are part-day public holidays (7 pm til midnight).

Information presented is from NT Government sources.